Day 2 –

Today is Day 2 of my gluten-free diet. The first day didn’t seem so difficult, as in the past, I had been slowly weaning myself off of gluten/wheat dependence before I finally realized that my mind would come up with tons of excuses to crave something specifically breaded. Once I realized how embedded these cravings were, that there was some kind of body-directive being executed from my “second brain,” it strengthened my resolve for a full-on experiment–no gluten for 1-2 months. Right now it’s looking more like 2 or 3 months, just so that I can be sure about it.

I spent some time in the early morning hours lamenting “no more perogies” until I realized that if I really wanted them all that bad, I could find a gluten free recipe online. Also, if I really wanted to have pasta, there are alternative options for me.  I could substitute with either the gluten free varieties easily purchasable at the grocery store, or I could eat rice vermicelli rice noodles instead. The rice vermicelli noodles wouldn’t come with the price markup as the gluten free variety, and are highly appealing.

In the meantime, I’ve picked up a wonderful book that educates me on the processes that are taking place in my body’s digestion. It’s called, The Second Brain, by Michael D. Gershon, M.D.. If nothing else, this book gives me tremendous appreciation for my body and the intricacies of natural processes in the human body.

 

Leave a Reply

